Electrical Floor Plan - Total Connected Load On a Wire?

Started by Stel, October 12, 2008, 09:36:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stel

Hi, I'm new to Visio and was wondering if something like this was possible (in Visio 2007 Pro). If I were to create a shape for recessed lights, for example, and enter shape data for their wattage, could I somehow have Visio automatically get a wattage total for all the lights connected to a switch with the 'wire connector' and display that on the floor plan near the switch (or elsewhere)? I have programming experience in C++, php, some assembly, etc. but none in Visio or VB.

Also would it be possible to automatically get a total of lights, receptacles, etc on a floor plan and display the total of each on the page?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Visio Guy

Hi Stel,

With code, you can do what you need to do.

I have written a few articles on connecting shapes together. The articles contain downloads, with VBA code. I would generally expect C++ guys/gals to be smarter than us VBA guys (grins, winks), so figuring out VBA shouldn't be too hard.

Connect All Shapes to Each Other
Create Visio Flowcharts Programmatically

Once you're comfortable with a bit of Visio automation we can move to the next step. You actually need to do the reverse of what these articles do: determine what is connected to what. I'll just give you a few pointers on how to do this:

1. Get a light-shape
2. Ask Visio for the FromConnects collection for that shape
3. Each FromConnect object (a Connection object) will have a FromSheet and a ToSheet object.
4. The FromSheet represents the connector. The ToSheet is the very light shape that we started with.
5. Analyze the FromSheets to get the total input wattage
For articles, tips and free content, see the Visio Guy Website at http://www.visguy.com
Get my Visio Book! Using Microsoft Visio 2010

aledlund