VBA for macro to delete shapesheet data

Started by PhilEdinburgh, January 14, 2014, 01:30:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PhilEdinburgh

Hi All,

I am very new to vba code and even newer to MS Visio. It'd be great if someone could help me out with some trouble I've been having.

BACKGROUND - I am creating shapes that represent water valves in schematics, each shape has several data fields behind it ie. Asset ID, valve diameter, etc. When updating these these shapes I have been using a shape substitute Add-on, unfortunately I must copy either 'All' or 'None' of the user defined cells from the original shape, leaving me with multiple fields of shape data that I do not want.

PROBLEM - I am left with shapes that have numerous fields of shape data, I need a macro that will act on highlighted shapes and delete datafields of my choosing. I have had a go (see below) at deleting the data field CritValve, I would really appreciate some help on this. Apologies for the basic code, I am still trying to make sense of it all. When I run this I am presented with the error; Object doesn't support this property or method and it highlights the line:
'If selectObj.CellExists("Prop.CritValve", Visio.VisExistsFlags.visExistsAnywhere) Then.

Sub DeleteShapeData()

' Set object as selected object
Set selectObj = ActiveWindow.Selection
If selectObj.Count = 0 Then
    MsgBox "You must select a shape first."
Else
    'continue processing
End If

'Search for the cell I wish to delete in the shapesheet
If selectObj.CellExists("Prop.CritValve", Visio.VisExistsFlags.visExistsAnywhere) Then
Dim c As Visio.Cell
Set c = selectObj.CellExists("Prop.CritValve")
selectObj.DeletRow c.Section, c.Row
Else

End If

End Sub

JuneTheSecond

Please try next
But for window name in the line
"Application.Windows.ItemEx("図面1:ページ - 1:Sheet.1 <図形>").Activate"
, please modify for your Visio language.
I recommend you to get code by recording a macro while you deleting the row.

Sub DeleteShapeData()