Shape scaling problem

Started by T.Boh, July 30, 2013, 08:48:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

T.Boh

Hi All

I'm new to Visio so this may be a silly question but I don't know how to fix it so I fought I'll ask more experienced users.

I have created my own shape. It has the right dimensions and as long as I was using it on the document with 1:20 scale (my first drawing) it was working well (I could drag it in whenever needed). Today I have created a new document with a new scale - 1:50 and alas my shape does not scale down when inserted. When I drag it in, it looks more less as big as before but should be more than half it's previous size (it is not scaled down to match drawing's scale).
When I changed drawing scale back to 1:20 and placed the shape and than changed scale to 1:50 - the shape did scale down. Same shape added  to drawing set at 1:50 is too big. What am I doing wrong :o? Should I block shape dimensions in protection or sth?
Help would be appreciated. Thanks

T.Boh

I didn't realise that it's such a tricky question  :)

vojo

Not sure exactly what you are trying to do (keep shape same visual size regardless of scale or scale down shape to scale), but you
could look putting something in the eventdrop  cell of the shape that uses the pagescale of the page to make some decision.

eventdrop = setf(getref(user.shapescale), pagescale / 2mm)
Width  = guard (13.225 mm * user.shapescale)
height = guard( 22.9991 mm * user.shapescale)

Basically, every time you drop the shape, it will check current pagescale (for example, pagescale = 1mm) and calculate current user.shapescale
for this shape (1mm / 2mm = 0.5)   That value will be used to set width ( 13.xxx * 0.5 = 6.5xxx mm) and height (22.xxxx * 0.5 = 11.xxx mm )
The guard() function prevents you from resizing the shape thru UI (you may want to set up some custom props to handle that....