Creating a shape with a pattern inside

Started by bentheimmigrant, April 23, 2009, 09:27:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bentheimmigrant

Basically, I need to create a fill pattern for a shape where circles are arranged in a certain way. They need to be 6 mm circles, arranged 15mm apart in a triangular pattern. I need about 59000 circles, so it's too much to do with actual circles. As long as the pattern looks roughly right it's ok, as I'll have a magnified view with it properly done. I'm very new to Visio, so please talk to me like you would a simpleton. I tried using one of the fill patterns, but it appears to always be the same resolution regardless of zoom, so it's not quite right.

Thanks

Ben

JuneTheSecond

Best Regards,

Junichi Yoda
http://june.minibird.jp/

bentheimmigrant

Quote from: JuneTheSecond on April 24, 2009, 12:23:21 AM
Hi,

How would you like to make your own custom fill pettern?
http://www.visguy.com/2008/09/09/hexagonal-custom-fill-pattern/

I guess that's probably it... I don't have access to visio just at the moment, but I'll let you know what I come up with.

bentheimmigrant

OK... I've got the pattern... Now I need to create a shape out of different lines. I can do that, but the some lines are dotted and some aren't. When I join them, they all become the same. Is there any way of avoiding this. I should point out that many lines are curved, so it makes things a little harder.

Thanks

wapperdude

A single line can only have a single pattern as far as I know.  You can have varying line styles but they will have to be separate lines.  You can snap and glue them, just don't join them.  If you need a filled shape with various line patterns around the border, I'd try this approach:

1.)  Draw your shape, duplicate it.