VBA in stencil master

Started by liam, October 17, 2013, 10:26:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

liam

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Visio and I'm trying to create a stencil with some smart shapes.

In particular I'd like to create a shape that has a variable number of connection points depending upon its size. What I'd like to do, if possible is use the EventXFMod event to call some VB code that then adds / removes some lines in the shapesheet ?

Is this possible ? Is it even possible to have a shape in a stencil with embedded VBA code, since a document created using the stencil is not the same as the stencil document so the VB macro / module doesn't seem to be visible ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Liam.

Jumpy

Using CallThis-Function in the ShapeSheet it is possible to start macro in stencil, even if the VBA project of the stencil is not known in the document of the drawing. But RunMacro function won't do that.

I would not use EventXFMod to start a macro because that event fires so often. If you wan't to react to changes of the width for example u could create a user defined cell with sth. like this:

=Callthis("MyMacro","MyVBAProject")+DEPENDSON(Width)

Because of Dependson, callthis is used whenever the width changes.

Paul Herber

There is another way, no macros, just effectively hides connection points outside the shape's area.
Example attached.
Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

liam

Thanks very much for the replies, both very useful.

What I'm not sure of now with the first solution is that none of the following seem to do anything;

=Callthis("MyMacro","MyVBAProject")+DEPENDSON(Width)
=Callthis("MyMacro","MyVBAProject.vss")+DEPENDSON(Width)
=Callthis("MyVBAProject.TheModule.MyMacro","MyVBAProject")+DEPENDSON(Width)

This works in the immediate window when MyVBAProject is active

MyVBAProject.TheModule.MyMacro