visio noob needs good title block

Started by perry59, November 04, 2010, 06:00:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

perry59

First, I am pretty new to visio so I have a lot to learn. I came to it from an Autocad background where I did extensive customization. I'm hoping I can do some similar things with visio.
What I need first and formost is the ability to easily insert a custom title block/border into a drawing, and easily edit its textual attributes. I already have the title block/border in both my template and in a stencil. So that part is done, and its easy enought to drag from the stencil into an empty drawing.
The problem is editing the text in the title block. Its arcaic. Right now you have to ungroup (explode in Acad parlance) the title block in order to edit the text. I hoped I could add custom properties to the title block (or current sheet) and bring up just one form to edit all the text in the title block. This does not seem possible though. It seems custom properties can be assigned to shapes (lines, rectanges, etc.) or at the sheet level. So I would have to add a property to each piece of text, which is no help. It seems that a piece of text can not aquire a property from the sheet level.
What I want to do is to click somewhere on the title block and invoke a form which contains ALL the editable text in the title block in one, easy to use location. NOT have to zoom in to the title block and edit each one individually. Is this possible? Im having trouble accomplishing this through the use of fields. Perhaps via VBA? Any help or examples would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
what, me worry?

wapperdude

There are two features that you might want to exploit, both are shown in the attached file.

Place a single Title Block on an empty page.  Thus, it should be shape whose reference is sheet.1.

For your specific request, you may do the following:
1.)  Select the main title block shape (highest level)